The South Florida Cultural Consortium Fellowship program offers the largest regional, government-sponsored artists’ grants in the United States, awarding $15,000 and $7,500 fellowships to resident visual and media artists from the counties of Broward, Martin, Miami-Dade, Monroe and Palm Beach. Since it was established in 1988, the Consortium has awarded close to $2 million in fellowships to over 200 artists. In addition to receiving the grant, the artists take part in an exhibition hosted and organized by a visual arts institution in one of the five counties.

Review Criteria

Submissions will be judged by the following criteria:

  • Degree of artistic excellence
  • Evidence of an established and recognized body of work over a sustained period of time
  • Consistency in the submitted body of work
  • All samples of work submitted for review must have been completed within the last three years prior to the application date. Failure to comply with this condition will result in disqualification.

Eligibility & Legal Agreement

All emerging, mid-career and established South Florida professional artists (those residing in Broward, Martin, Miami-Dade, Monroe or Palm Beach Counties) are eligible to apply. Candidates must have resided and worked in one of the participating five counties from October 30, 2015 to October 30, 2016 and must apply from the county of residence.

The Consortium awards the Fellowships contingent on proof of residency, which may include one or more of the following: property tax record; lease agreement; voter’s registration; or an IRS income tax return for 2015.

The Consortium defines a professional artist as a person who has created a recognized body of original works of art within an artistic discipline over a sustained period of time, and who is striving to achieve the highest level of professional recognition.

Individuals are not eligible if they are engaging in artwork as a hobby, if they are an employee of the participating County governments or of the South Florida Cultural Consortium’s member local arts agencies, or if they are a student pursuing an undergraduate or graduate degree.

2018 Fellowship Deadline & Application Instructions

To be announced


Past award winners

2017 Raheleh Filsoofi
2017 Isabel Gouveia
2016 TD Gillispie
2016 Natalia Laskis
2015 Sarah Knouse
2014 Vanessa Diaz
2014 Mumbi O’Brien
2013 Bonnie Seeman
2013 Nathaniel Katz
2012 Phillip Estlund

2011 Walter Hnatysh Jr.
2010 Sibel Kocabasi
2009 Blane De St. Croix
2008 Diane Arrieta
2008 Carol Prusa
2007 Walter Hnatysh
2007 Katie Deits
2006 Denise Moody-Tackley
2006 Amy Gross
2005 Miroslav Antic

2005 Miroslav Antic
2004 Kevin Boldenow
2004 Amy Broderick
2003 Blane De St. Croix
2002 Carol Prusa
2001 Bruce Helander
2000 Tammy Knipp
1999 No award given
1998 Daniel Lorenzetti
1997 Kathleen Holmes

1996 Victoria Skinner
1995 Paul Aho
1994 Douglas Ferrin
1993 No award given
1992 Marilyn Harrison
1991 Carol Joyce Seid
1990 Laura Wortzel
1989 Donald Neal
1988 Sam Perry


The South Florida Cultural Consortium

Broward Cultural Division   Florida Keys Council of the Arts   The Arts Council of Martin County   Miami-Dade County Division of Cultural Affairs   Cultural Council of Palm Beach County